Five Titans selected to Pro Bowl

Five Titans selected to Pro Bowl

The Tennessee Titans, who have been shut out of the initial Pro Bowl voting in recent years, had five players selected for the 2017 game in Orlando.

Defensive end Jurrell Casey and tight end Delanie Walker, both of whom played in the game last year as alternates, were selected to this year’s team along with left tackle Taylor Lewan, running back DeMarco Murray, who is headed to his third Pro Bowl, and linebacker Brian Orakpo, who earned his fourth Pro Bowl selection, but first as a Titan.

“I think a lot of guys have played very well for us this year. We’ve had a number of players that have played very well this year,” Titans coach Mike Mularkey said before the announcements were made.

Casey has 36 tackles this season and three sacks this season.

Walker has 57 receptions for 742 yards and six touchdowns this season.

Lewan has given up only one sack all season long and is coming off strong games against vaunted pass rushers of the Denver Broncos and Kansas City Chiefs in protecting the quarterback and with the revitalized running game.

“I’m not about individual honors, but it would kind of be nice to have this offensive line recognized,” Lewan said Tuesday before the announcements were made.

Murray has 1,224 yards rushing on 268 carries after coming over from the Philadelphia Eagles in a trade.

Orakpo has tied his career high in sacks with 11, and has been a vital cog in the Tennessee pass rush.

According to, quarterback Marcus Mariota, tackle Jack Conklin and fullback Jalston Fowler.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *