Kevin Mawae elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

Kevin Mawae elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

Former Tennessee Titans center Kevin Mawae was among the five modern era players elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in the Class of 2019 Saturday night.

Mawae, who spent the final four years of his 16-year NFL career in Tennessee, joins defensive backs Ed Reed, Champ Bailey, Ty Law and tight end Tony Gonzalez in this year’s Hall of Fame class. The will be enshrined into the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio in August along with Broncos owner Pat Bowlen, former Dallas Cowboys executive Gil Brandt and former Kansas City Chiefs defensive back Johnny Robinson, who was elected by the veterans committee.

Mawae played for the Seattle Seahawks and New York Jets before joining the Titans. He once had a consecutive games streak of 177 games played and was an All-Pro selection three different times.

Mawae’s final season with the Titans in 2009 was the year in which he anchored a Titans line that helped running back Chris Johnson rush for 2,006 yards that season.

Mawae was also impactful off the field, serving two terms as the president of the NFL Players Association.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *